The Lehigh and Northampton Transportation Authority (LANTA), created in the midst of a transportation crisis in March of 1972 by Lehigh and Northampton counties, is charged with operating a “public transportation system . . for public use in the metropolitan area consisting of the Counties of Lehigh and Northampton.” The Authority assumed responsibility for the transit system formerly owned and operated by Lehigh Valley Transit Company, a private, for-profit entity which, in 1970, petitioned the PUC to permit the cessation of services. A bi-county, municipal authority, LANTA supplements passenger fares and other revenues with county, state and federal funding to support operating and capital expenses. Of its twelve member Board of Directors (10 voting, 2 ex-officio), six are appointed by the Lehigh County Executive and six are appointed by the Northampton County Executive. The Board meets monthly to review operations, finance matters and establishes the policies and direction for the organization. The Board appoints an Executive Director to manage the transit system on a day-to-day basis. The Authority is proud to report that a safe, efficient, coordinated, economical and high quality bus transportation system runs throughout Lehigh and Northampton counties. It is one of the finest transit systems in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, if not in the nation.


LANtaBus – A fixed route network of 26 bus routes throughout the Lehigh Valley providing daily, later evening and Saturday services. The LANtaBus system is concentrated in the urbanized areas of the Cities of Allentown, Bethlehem and Easton and the immediately surrounding boroughs and townships. For schedule and route information see (line to routes & schedules page on


LANtaVan – A shared-ride service for people who are unable to use LANtaBus fixed route bus services due to lack of ability, or for those who need specialized service. The LANtaVan operator, Easton Coach, operates over one-hundred vans within Lehigh and Northampton counties. Prospective passengers must apply for LANtaVan services by completing an application (link to and must call in advance to schedule trips. No one passenger has exclusive use of the vehicle.

CCCT (Carbon County Community Transit)

Carbon Country Community Transit – Fixed route service, known as ‘The LYNX’ operates throughout Carbon County five days a week. An additional route is provided Wednesday’s to expand the system. Additionally, a shared-ride service for people who are unable to use the fixed route bus service due to lack of ability, or for those who need specialized service is available. Prospective passengers must apply to Carbon County Community Transit shared ride services by completing an application (available on our website). Day to day operations are overseen by Easton Coach under contractual agreement with LANTA.